The club's first committee meeting was held in July 1962 and the club's first president was Airey Neave MP. He fulfilled this post until 1979 when he was tragically killed by an IRA bomb in the car park of the House of Commons.His widow, Baroness Neave held the post after his death, 1980 to 1982. The club's first chairman, Norman B.Challenor , held the post from 1963 until 1989. The club's first secretary, Dennis Penn, served the club from 1963 until 1973.
The club's first premises in Abingdon were in Broad Street, until they were demolished to make way for the Charter developement and multi-storey car park. For a short time between 1973 and 74, the club's headquarters were in a temporary location in the Kings Head and Bell public house in East St.Helens Street. In 1974 the club moved to its present location in Helenstowe House in Ock Street, which had previously been the home and surgery of a local doctor. The premises were officially opened in December 1974 by Airey Neave MP.
The club premises has undergone extensive refurbishment and today offers comfortable of surroundings, with a lounge bar, games room and family room. There is also an upstairs function room and annexe which may be hired by non-club members, the clubs current membership stands around 750.